4megsmusing

“Plain Jane Goes Glam?”

In Uncategorized on March 30, 2011 at 8:55 pm

I consider myself to be somewhat of a “Plain Jane”.  Not really a risk taker when it comes to fashion (although I’d like to be), and an outfit “saver”.  You know, I’ll “save” certain outfits or jewelry for a night out or a special occasion.  It’s funny because I have these grand images of myself (in another life perhaps), where I’m dressed in the most stylish outfits with killer shoes and jewelry.  I’m oozing confidence, kicking ass & taking names.  I’m just another Angelina Jolie, looking fabulous, taking care of my babies, saving the world, and heading home to my hot hubby (I do actually have the hot hubby part, I must say;) ).  All in a day’s work.  Ha! Ha!

Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt at the Deauville ...

Image via Wikipedia

Now in REALITY, my daily wardrobe consists of sweat pants, more sweat pants, jeans, sweaters, t-shirts, tanks, sneakers, imitation Uggs, silver hoop earrings, & my wedding rings.  You get the picture…boring!  My idea of mixing-it-up is to wear my oval hoops instead of round, because  you know, I’m “saving” my other stuff for a special occasion.  Yikes!  I recently read a quote somewhere (can’t recall where) that said, “Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie.  Don’t save it for a special occasion.  Today is special”.

I totally agree with, and “get” this idea and I’ve expanded it for myself into even everyday clothes, to try to get myself out of the sweats & jeans rut.  I do struggle with the practicality of it though.  I’d just feel silly at the bus stop, or grocery store in heels all glammed-out with jewelry.  Or better yet while scrubbing toilets at home!  So I’ll start small, after all, baby steps are the way I operate.  Maybe some more color in my wardrobe, or dress-up Fridays (no matter what’s on the daily agenda), or maybe some pretty unmentionables under those sweat pants on a not so special day…I know, too much information, but you get the idea!

So if you see a crazy looking gal at the grocery store wearing sweats and lots of bling, you won’t have to wonder, “What was she thinking when she got dressed this morning?” because…I just told you:)

  1. Do you ever watch “What Not To Wear”? They dress people up all the time, out of the types of outfits you mentioned. To tell the truth, while I don’t always think they give the most practical advice (lots of high heels), I do think there is a point — not only do these folks look a LOT better after the makeover, they seem to feel better. And I have personally experienced the effects of dressing well when I go out shopping — you’re almost always treated better! So bravo to you for making more of an effort — as long as you feel better, that’s the important part.

  2. One of the best baby steps I have taken is to wear flats with my jeans. I have a pair of great red boots but I am saving them for a special occaision.

Leave a Reply

