4megsmusing

“Good Life Lessons, #1”

In Uncategorized on February 22, 2011 at 3:29 pm

A few months ago, my sister shared with me an email that contained 45 life lessons written by Regina Brett.  She is a 90 year old columnist for “The Plain Dealer” in Cleveland, Ohio.  This became her most requested column.  All 45 are great, some funny and some serious, but I’ve chosen to share and write about a few that struck a chord with me starting with this one:

“If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back”

What a great way to try and keep things in perspective.  We all have problems, some bigger than others.  I don’t know about anyone else, but I tend to get so immersed in my own problems, even tiny ones, and in many cases that winds up just making them worse.  I often envy others who seem to have it all “together”, but in reality they have problems too. Their problems may often be bigger than mine.  The person that seems financially well off, may actually have huge debt, or may be poor in meaningful relationships.  The person who seems so happy without a care in the world, my be secretly concealing depression, or an unhappy marriage.

I’ll try to think of this when dealing with strangers too.  The next time I’m confronted with a nasty, or grumpy, or just plain unpleasant person, I will try to think about what their pile of problems my contain.  Are they unable to pay their mortgage?  Do they have a child with an illness?  Are they taking care of an aging parent?  Did they lose their job?  All possibilities, and all reasons that I would rather deal with my own pile. After all, there will in turn, be a lesson learned from dealing with each one.

Stay tuned for future posts containing more life lessons from Regina, and I hope you enjoy!

  1. Good post, Meg. You are right but it’s hard sometimes to see perspective. Having said that, when all said and done,we’re lucky with the blessings we have – there are millions (maybe billions) worse off.

  2. […] “Good Life Lessons, #1″ (4megsmusing.wordpress.com) LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "ff7888"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "4e4e4e"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "db2f5e"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "eb5266"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "what-a-day"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "inspiration"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "regina-brett"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "sayings"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "tips"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "tuesdays"); LD_AddSlot("LD_ROS_300-WEB"); LD_GetBids(); Share this: […]

Leave a Reply

