4megsmusing

“Permission to Procrastinate”

In Uncategorized on February 9, 2011 at 3:12 pm

I am determined to keep up with this post a week challenge, but lately I’m finding it hard to get my thoughts together.  I’ve been feeling like I have a bit of A.D.D.,  I have so many ideas in my head but I just can’t seem to concentrate on one of them long enough to make a coherent thought and all I want to do is get under a warm blanket.  I’m convinced it’s due to the “winter blues”.  I don’t think anyone would argue that it hasn’t been a tough one so far, and we’re still only in February.  It just sucks the motivation right out of you.  Who wants to get out of a toasty bed, or up off the sofa when it’s so darn cold?  Winter makes doing even the simplest of everyday tasks a real challenge.  I was encouraged to hear on my local  news one evening that this is normal.  Seems that we humans are pre-wired if you will, to not so much hibernate, but be less active during these cold winter months of less sunlight.  The problem is that with all of the pressures of productivity and multitasking in our current culture, we are in a constant battle with our own biology.

The suggestions given for fighting the blues, were to try to get as much natural light during the day as you can, exercise, try to get outdoors even if it’s only for a few minutes, and to stay active, especially doing things that you really enjoy.

That was all I needed to hear.  For me that translated into, conserving the energy I have for the things I enjoy, writing, knitting, sewing, being with my children….not housework!  So I’ll admit my house is a little extra dusty, I’m behind on the laundry, my floors are full of footprints (waiting for the next snow to create more), I haven’t been making the bed every day but yet, as my Grandmother would say, “I’m busier than a one-armed paper hanger!”  Busy taking care of the things that matter, and I’m surviving the winter blues…so far.  It’s really helping.

I remind myself that all it will take is those first few Spring days to recharge my batteries.  The windows will be open and gentle breezes will blow away the winter dust.  I’ll have my house, my disposition, and my productivity level back in tip-top, spick & span shape in no time.  It will happen.

Seeing that news clip allowed me to give myself permission to do a little less and I highly recommend you do the same for yourself.  I just needed someone to say it was o.k., and now I’m passing it on to you.   Don’t forget about your kids too, they feel the winter blues the same as you, but may not be able to communicate it.  Cut them a little slack.

Forty days until the official first day of Spring,  hang in there!

  1. Couldn’t agree more. Have been having a struggle myself. Giving myself permission to do less translated into nothing for the past month, however, so giving myself permission to do something I enjoy seems to be working better for me! I just started going to a short story class last night, and it was great to get out and engage the creative side of myself!

    Also, I find visiting gardening blogs where people post pics of their lovely gardens (in warmer climates, natch) helps. I realize something’s blooming somethere, and that spring WILL eventually get here! Can it only be 40 days away? Seems impossible!

    Let’s all hang in together and support each other!! The winter blues are pretty tough to ride out, especially as hellacious as this winter has been so far.

    • Short story class sounds interesting! Being creative is the one thing that helps me the most. Let me know how the class goes. I will certainly check out some gardening blogs, great idea, hadn’t thought of that. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

