4megsmusing

“Review of Oprah’s Master Class”

In Uncategorized on January 17, 2011 at 6:05 pm

The other night I actually got the chance to check out Oprah’s new network OWN.  I caught the end of the show “Oprah Presents Master Class featuring Diane Sawyer”.  It was really good, and I did learn a few things.  One, is that I now admire Diane Sawyer a little more than I even did before.  She had some really interesting and insightful things to share.  I’d like to go back and watch the whole show at some point, but haven’t had the chance yet.  I really liked some the things she had to say about marriage, of all things.  But the thing she said that I related to the most was this statement:

“You need people who reinforce your best self because when you stay inside who you really are, you will be able to live not only everyday in purpose and joy, but you will be able to look back & say, “Oh, I see, I see that was good.”  And whenever you are blue or lonely or stricken by some humiliating thing you did, the pure & the hope is in caring about other people.” ~Diane Sawyer

She was not speaking on caring about what other people think, but rather in caring for people.  Being true to yourself, and surrounding yourself with people who reinforce that, is powerful.  In doing so you can accomplish anything, and make the most change for good.  Something I think I have recently been discovering on my own, but hearing it from someone like Diane Sawyer helped to validate it for me.

A rather significant tidbit to take away from 20 minutes of a show, I think!  I will certainly check out some more of Oprah’s Master Class.

  1. I think a lot of her shows on OWN are good! Although I like Oprah, I wasn’t sure what to expect with her network. I’m always laughing when I watch Behind Season 25. It’s refreshing to see that they make mistakes and stress out over jobs like the rest of us!

Leave a Reply

