4megsmusing

“What’s your snowed-in tradition?”

In Uncategorized on January 12, 2011 at 2:40 am

Looks like we’re getting some snow, and there’s a good chance we’re going to have a snow day.  Now that i’m an adult, snow has certainly lost some of the  magic and luster that it held for me as a child.  It’s just not fun when it’s matched up with responsibility…boo!  But remember how exciting a snow day was when you were a kid?  Magical right?  First of all, no school, then staying outside to play in it all day and only stopping when you couldn’t feel your fingers and toes anymore and it was time to throw your stuff in the dryer.  Then while you waited for it to dry, hot cocoa of course!  Maybe a quick “Tom and Jerry” cartoon, and then out again until the next cocoa break.  Ahh, to be a kid again.

I’m fortunate enough to be able to stay home in bad weather if I need to, so I’ve decided to thoroughly enjoy tomorrow if it is a snow day.  So far, I seemed to have passed down the hot cocoa tradition to my kids, and I think we’ll also do some baking.  Gotta have some warm, fresh from the oven cookies to go with that cocoa:)

Now, the magic of a snow day isn’t about playing, it’s about having a day to NOT have to do anything, or go anywhere.  We’ll all be home, together.  It’s different than a day off for a holiday.  That usually involves, some sort of get-together, or party.  You’re just home for snow.  Why not make it a day to bond, and enjoy each other.  I hope you get to stay home and just ‘be’.

Do you have a “snowed-in” tradition?  I’d love to hear about it!

P.S.  I invite you all to remind me about how “happy” I was for a snow day when we’re having our 3rd or 4th of the season!

  1. My husband likes to bet with the kids if there will be a snow days. Most of the time, he loses and then does their chores for the week.

Leave a Reply

