4megsmusing

“What’s a sock darner anyway?”

In Uncategorized on November 10, 2010 at 2:13 am

Darn–verb (used with object) to mend, as torn clothing, with rows of stitches, sometimes by crossing and interweaving rows to span a gap.

I bought my son a brand new pair of socks a few weeks ago, and the other day while folding the laundry, I noticed he had holes in both heels of these new socks.  Are you kidding me?   He managed to get holes in them in a few weeks?  I was annoyed thinking that now I had to throw out practically new socks, and buy more that would most likely last only a few weeks too.

The next day, while rambling my daily complaints to my most patient Mother, she said, “Do you have a sock darner?  I can fix those for you.”  A who-what?  What the heck is a sock darner?  Turns out, a sock darner is a tool used specifically to mend socks.  Who knew?  It looks like a wooden chicken drumstick.  I actually remember playing with one when I was little at my Grandmother’s.  And yes, I pretended it was chicken!

By now I’m sure you are wondering where I’m going with all this.  Well it got me thinking.  How many almost new pairs of socks have been thrown out needlessly because the art of sock darning is fading?  I can’t help but think that this along with countless other domestic arts are being lost.  I know, I know, it’s a convenience thing too, but should we just let these things disappear?  Am I the only nut out there who sometimes wishes these things were taught to me growing up?  Am I the only one who would love to know how to sew something really great if I wanted to.  Sometimes I think it would be nice to make my own original curtains.  I get sick of what I see in every store.  I’d love to make my kids some really cute (not corny) clothes.  But, I couldn’t even attempt it without taking a class.  I wouldn’t even know how to turn a sewing machine on!  And for me, that is the big inconvenience factor.  I don’t have time to take a class.

If these things were passed on a little more, I might have that knowledge already, and be able to do these things if I wanted, or needed to.  I think that with the times we live in right now, there are a lot of people out there who would benefit from being able to make things last a little longer, or just plain make something from scratch.  Maybe we’d be less of a throw-away society, and more creative to boot.

I know this is all a little bit silly, but next time your favorite thing gets a hole in it, or you want a great set of pillows or curtains for your home that no one else will have,  think about that “darn” blog  you read about lost domestic arts!


  1. I am going to darn my socks for the first time; for they are my favorite and cannot part with them. Good luck with your darning–Stella Carson

Leave a Reply

