4megsmusing

“Note to my 16 Year Old Self”

In Uncategorized on November 10, 2010 at 2:46 am

I have to note that I can’t take credit for the idea of writing a note to my teenage self.  I read it on another blog, and just loved the whole idea of it.  How incredible would it be to get a note from yourself!  What would you say?  I suggest everyone try this, it’s fun!  I may do it periodically, but here is my first.

 

Dear 16 Year Old Meg,

As I sit here writing this note, I do so in part to distract myself from the potato chips in the pantry.  That said, tip # 1

  • At sixteen, you’re not that into potato chips, and you never gain a pound no matter what you eat.  At 30-something, you can’t resist a chip, and and every single one you eat becomes more evident the next time you put on a pair of jeans.  So, eat a few more chips, and enjoy them now:)
  • Now, on a more serious note, don’t try to just blend in so much.  Don’t be afraid to be yourself.
  • Be a little less boy crazy.  Believe me there will never be a shortage of boys in the world!  Use this time to figure out who you are.  The boys will still be there later.  Honest.
  • I know every adult says this , but it’s so true…make school come first!  I’m not saying you have to be a nerdy bookworm, but give honest effort.  It’s the one thing you will regret not doing the most.
  • Don’t follow paths based on what you think other people’s perceptions of you should be.  In other words, don’t change your major in college to special ed because everyone else thinks you’d be great at it.  Take more art, literature, and writing classes.  This is where your heart is.
  • Take some time to be totally independent.  Be sure of who you are first, before you change your name to someone elses.
  • The one thing that you know in your heart in soul for sure already at age 16, that you want more than anything to someday be a Mom, is true.  Don’t ever doubt it for a second.
  • Write more journals.  You will find them invaluable later in life.
  • Pay attention to technology!  I know it seems boring now, and kind of nerdy, but believe me when i tell you that, that whole “internet thing” will change your life!
  • Last but not least, enjoy every minute of this time.  It is some of the best of your life.  Revel in the fact that your only responsibility right now is to yourself.  The only thing you have to do is go to school, build relationships, and concentrate on the type of person you want to be.  This time is unique, and it only happens once.  Take it all in, and have fun!

Love, Your 30-something year old self

P.S.  Let the fact that I’m ‘writing’, be a hint to you 😉

  1. Love this!! Wish I had this note when I was 16!!

  2. What incredibly sound advice. And what a great excercise for your 30-something self to figure out what to say to your 16 year old self.

Leave a Reply

